小费习俗

美国有支付小费的习俗,是对服务人员的服务表示认可的体现。甚至某些情况下,不付小费是不礼貌的。不过也有些情况其实不用付小费,但从业人员还是会企图让您支付。以下是不同场合下支付小费数额的建议:

机场以及车站的行李搬运工:每件行李1-2美元

出租车或者网约车司机:账单总额的10%-25%。很多美国出租车座位后面会在支付时展示一个默认小费支付金额。这个金额通常偏高,您可以改掉这个数字,输入自己想付的金额。所有由CasinoChi提供的交通服务是不需要付小费的。

酒店行李搬运服务:每件2-3美金。

酒店房间打扫:下榻期间每天2-5美金,并附上感谢小纸条。

客房餐饮服务:账单总额的15%-20%。注意账单上可能包含“服务费”,但这不是小费。服务费是由酒店征收,但小费是直接给到服务人员的。有的酒店会主动加收小费(通常默认是18%),这种情况您可以划掉酒店默认数额,按照自己对服务的感受支付小费。通常在酒店餐厅里多人聚餐会遇到这种情况。

餐厅小费

快餐店:不用小费

普通餐厅:15%-20%

高档餐厅:25%

酒吧服务员:每杯1美金

用收银机的咖啡厅和小店铺

很多小餐厅会在收银机旁边放一个装小费的罐子,或者让您付款时选择读卡机器上默认的小费数额。有的餐厅在您点餐后,服务员会把食物送过来,这种情况付款时要给一点小费,如果是您自己去取餐,则不用给,在支付时就可以选择“不给小费”。

安全须知

新闻媒体总喜欢报道各种犯罪行为,导致您会觉得旅游目的地治安不好,其实不然。这次我们去的地方都很安全,犯罪率很低。当然保险起见,在陌生地区还是要采取一些防范措施。若您碰到有疑问情况,请随时咨询我们CasinoChi员工,或者导游。以下是一些安全建议。

  • 不要单独出行
  • 酒店门要上安全锁,不要随意开门,贵重物品请放在保险箱内
  • 不要跟陌生人透露自己的酒店名字或者要去的地方
  • 保管好贵重物品,通常可以放在酒店保险箱内,特别贵重的物品除外。通常把东西放在Casino Chi的车上也是安全的。
  • 不要带太多现金在身上
  • 不要去暗处
  • 不要在未通知我们员工的情况下离开旅行团
  • 不要跟陌生人走

电源电压

行前打包行李时,需要了解美国的电源常识。通常小的电器,像手机、相机、吹风机、剃须刀等都是用国际标准的110/220伏特交流电的两孔插座,所以您不用带电源转换器。

在行前请确认您的电器可以用110/220伏特的两孔插座。

很多平板电脑用的都是三头插座,首先确认是否能用美国的110/120伏特,60赫兹的交流电。最好买一个转换头+变压器,因为中国通用220伏特50赫兹的交流电。(香港地区是200伏特,台湾地区是110伏特)

Socket A   /   Socket B

Tippping Customs

Offering a tip in America reflects your appreciation for a job well done or for those who are exceptionally helpful. In certain circumstances it may be considered rude to offer no tip. However, there are other circumstances where businesses or individuals expect or encourage you to tip when no tip is customary. Here is some advice on when it is good to leave a tip and when it is not.

An airport or bus/train porter helping you with your bags- Tip $1-$2 for each bag.

Taxis or other ride services Tip 10%-25% of the fare. Many US taxis have seat back displays which preselect a “Default” tip amount. You can manually override these amounts which are often higher than customary tipping. You are not expected to tip on any Casino Chi provided transportation.

A hotel staff member carries your bags to your room- Tip $2-$3 per bag

Hotel cleaning service Leave $2-$5 on the pillow every morning with a thank you note.

In room dining Tip 15%-20%. Look out for a “service charge” which may be added to the bill and is not a tip. The service charge goes to the hotel while a tip would go to the staff who provided the service. Also beware some hotels adding the tip themselves (usually 18%). If they do, you can cross this out and select your own tip amount or you can add to it if you feel the service was exceptional. This circumstance usually happens with larger parties in restaurants.

Restaurant tipping
Fast food- no tip
Regular restaurant- $15% to 20%.
Very fancy restaurant- 25%

Bartenders Tip $1 per drink

Coffee shops and other small shops with a register for paying Many eateries where you pay at a register will have a tip jar or show you a display with pre selected tip options. If the shop brings the food to the table for you after you order at a register, you can tip a small amount. If you are expected to pick the food up yourself or seat yourself, a tip is not necessary. You can therefore override any display with “no tip”.

Safey & Crime

Most news media love to report crime events. This creates the impression that an area you may be visiting is less safe than reality. The areas we will be staying and visiting are generally considered very safe with exceptionally low incidences of violent crime. To be certain one should always practice safe measures when in unfamiliar areas. When unsure of a situation just ask Casino Chi staff, or reach out to our hosts and hostesses 24/7. Here is some other advice.

  • Travel in numbers.
  • Use hotel locks on doors, do not prop open doors, and use room security devices of the hotel safe for storing valuables.
  • Do not tell strangers where you are staying or where you are going.
  • Do not leave valuables unattended. Generally items are safe in hotel rooms with the exception of very valuable items. Casino Chi transport is generally safe to leave items.
  • Avoid carrying large amounts of cash.
  • Stay in well lit areas.
  • Do not leave the tour without telling staff.
  • Do not go off with strangers.

Electrical Outlets

Before packing for your trip to Boston and New York City, it is necessary to have some basic knowledge of the electricity in the U.S.A. In general, small devices like cell phones, cameras, hair dryers and electric razors are made with international standards using 110/220 with two prong charger plugs. You will not have to use an adapter while travelling in the U.S.

Before leaving for America make sure your electric devices use 110/220 volts and have two prongs.

Three prong plugs used for many laptops may not fit into the plugs used in the U.S. Check out the voltage for the laptop to make sure it uses 110-120v at 60 Hz. It is a good idea to purchase a combination adaptor/converter.

The voltage and frequency used in the U.S. is 110-120 volts at 60 Hz. While in China it is 220 volts 50 Hz (Hong Kong 200v, Taiwan 110v)

Socket A   /   Socket B